Stills: ‘The Waiting Game’

Posted on 08/02/2013

1



A recent university project gave me the challenge of creating two separate short films, using the same script but conveying two different genres. I wrote, shot, directed and edited two pieces called The Waiting Game.

Both films are set on Christmas Eve, one – the story of a young girl waiting to catch Santa on camera. The other – an ice cold hitman waiting to catch Santa off guard…

They’re not online right now, despite them being finished, they still need a lot of work so I’m not comfortable openly broadcasting them just yet. They were the first time I’d shot on DSLR (Canon 60D) for an extended period of time, so I had a fair struggle getting to grips with balancing the light and accommodating the changes, particularly when switching lenses. This of course made worse by the fact that I only had a Rotolight and a desk lamp at my disposal (Poor planning will be the death of me!). So, when time permits it – I’ll be reopening the project and subjecting it to some tweaking – mainly grading and attempting to reduce some of the noise. Then, I’ll upload them!

But for now, here’s a promo/stills collage I threw together whilst waiting for both films to export. Click the image for a full size version.

Enjoy!

Santa Claus is comin' to town...

Santa Claus is comin’ to town…

