Projects: ‘Patience’

Posted on 08/02/2013

0



‘Patience’ – 1 Minute Short

The premise is simple – the mind of a man at an absolute breaking point…

This is Patience, a 1 minute short I put together in my second year of university.

Techy bits:

  • Camera: Canon 60D with a 50mm Prime Lens.
  • Lighting: Entirely natural – sunlight only.
  • Sound: Recorded on a Zoom H1 with a Rode Mic.
  • Music: The House of Leaves – Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)

Once again, this was written, shot, directed and edited by myself. I was quite happy with how this turned out, I loved experimenting with splitting the screen and changing the playback speeds when I was editing it, something I’d like to try more with, and would recommend to others.

Eagle-eyed viewers will have noticed that I’ve featured the same actor (Jake Holton) as I have in my genre challenge project – The Waiting Game He’s an old friend of mine, who I can’t thank enough for the time he’s devoted to my uni work. Throughout my degree studies he’s been like the Johnny Depp to my Tim Burton (Just without the underlying, severely undiagnosed, sexual tension). Expect to see him in another short before the year is out!

I’d also like to just take a second to thank Kevin MacLeod and his fantastic royalty free music over at Incompetech – he’s been an absolutely invaluable resource to me and many of my course-mates over the past 3 years. I’ve also started hearing more and more of his tracks on TV these days, so credit due to him.

Thanks for watching!

P.S …I also have some pretty rancid trivia about this one, but I won’t say anything to save spoiling it. Anyone who wants to know, feel free to ask!

P.P.S …I totally fluffed the ending of this one as well. But for the same reasons as above, I won’t explain it now. Feel free to ask away though!

Posted in: Projects, University